Locus Award Winners 2013

The Locus Awards are poll-based awards for books published in the previous year, and are voted on by readers across the world. Congratulations to this year’s finalists and winners, it is truly a who’s who of genre fiction. I am thrilled for the winners and sad for those who did not win, but with the quality of the competition, it is clear how great an honor it is to have a work be a finalist. Any and all are invited on our show. Now, go support these authors, artists and publishers.


Winner: Redshirts, John Scalzi (Tor; Gollancz)
The Hydrogen Sonata, Iain M. Banks (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
Caliban’s War, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK)





Winner: The Apocalypse Codex, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK)
The Killing Moon, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc)
Glamour in Glass, Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
Hide Me Among the Graves, Tim Powers (Morrow; Corvus)





Winner: Railsea, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan)
The Drowned Cities, Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown; Atom)
Pirate Cinema, Cory Doctorow (Tor Teen)
Dodger, Terry Pratchett (Harper; Doubleday UK)
The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There, Catherynne M. Valente (Feiwel and Friends; Much-in-Little ’13)





Winner: Throne of the Crescent Moon, Saladin Ahmed (DAW; Gollancz ’13)
vN, Madeline Ashby (Angry Robot US; Angry Robot UK)
Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Random House; Doubleday UK)
The Games, Ted Kosmatka (Del Rey; Titan)
Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson (Grove; Corvus)





Winner: After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall: A Novel by Nancy Kress (Tachyon)
“In the House of Aryaman, a Lonely Signal Burns,” Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s 1/12)
“On a Red Station, Drifting,” Aliette de Bodard (Immersion)
“The Stars Do Not Lie,” Jay Lake (Asimov’s 10-11/12)
“The Boolean Gate,” Walter Jon Williams (Subterranean)





Winner: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi,” Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity)
“Faster Gun,” Elizabeth Bear ( 8/12)
“Close Encounters,” Andy Duncan (The Pottawatomie Giant & Other Stories)
“Fake Plastic Trees,” Caitlín R. Kiernan (After)
“The Lady Astronaut of Mars,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Rip-Off!)





Winner: “Immersion,” Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 6/12)
“The Deeps of the Sky,” Elizabeth Bear (Edge of Infinity)
“Mantis Wives,” Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 8/12)
“Elementals,” Ursula K. Le Guin (Tin House Fall ’12)
“Mono No Aware,” Ken Liu (The Future Is Japanese)






Winner: Edge of Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
After, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Hyperion)
The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-ninth Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed. (St. Martin’s Griffin; Robinson as The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 25)
The Future Is Japanese, Nick Mamatas & Masumi Washington, eds. (Haikasoru)
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Six, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Night Shade)





Winner: Shoggoths in Bloom, Elizabeth Bear (Prime)
The Best of Kage Baker, Kage Baker (Subterranean)
At the Mouth of the River of Bees, Kij Johnson (Small Beer)
The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories Volume One: Where on Earth and Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands, Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)
The Dragon Griaule, Lucius Shepard (Subterranean)





Winner: Asimov’s



Winner: Tor Books
Subterranean Press
Angry Robot



Winner: Ellen Datlow
John Joseph Adams
Gardner Dozois
Jonathan Strahan
Ann & Jeff VanderMeer





Winner: Michael Whelan
Donato Giancola
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio
Shaun Tan




Winner: Distrust That Particular Flavor, William Gibson (Putnam)
An Exile on Planet Earth, Brian Aldiss (Bodleian Library)
Science Fiction: The 101 Best Novels 1985-2010, Damien Broderick & Paul Di Filippo, eds. (NonStop)
The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn, eds. (Cambridge University Press)
Some Remarks, Neal Stephenson (Morrow)




Winner: Spectrum 19: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood)
Trolls, Brian Froud & Wendy Froud (Abrams)
Tarzan: The Centennial Celebration, Scott Tracy Griffin (Titan)
J.R.R. Tolkien: The Art of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull, eds. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Steampunk: An Illustrated History, Brian J. Robb (Aurum)

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward is a former Executive Producer for AISFP. His debut novel, Scavenger: Evolution, blends Dune with Alien in a thriller where sand divers uncover death and evolution within America's buried fortresses. Sign up to his author newsletter for updates on new releases.

Connect with Adventures in SciFi Publishing

Subscribe to podcast on: iTunes | Stitcher Radio (Android users) | Podcast RSS | Website RSS

Speak Your Mind


WordPress Anti-Spam by WP-SpamShield